IAS Exam Eligibility

This post describes the IAS exam eligibility criteria in detail, including, educational qualification, age criteria for IAS exam, nationality criteria, and number of attempts.

1. For the Indian Administrative Service and the Indian Police Service, a candidate must be a citizen of India.

2. For other services, a candidate must be either:

(a) a citizen of India, or
(b) a subject of Nepal, or
(c) a subject of Bhutan, or
(d) a Tibetan refugee who came over to India before 1st January, 1962 with the intention of permanently settling in India, or
(e) a person of Indian origin who has migrated from Pakistan, Burma, Sri Lanka, East African countries of Kenya, Uganda, the United Republic of Tanzania, Zambia, Malawi, Zaire, Ethiopia and Vietnam with the intention of permanently settling in India.

Educational Eligibility for IAS Exam

Candidate applying for Civil Services Exam must at least hold a degree from any of any of Universities incorporated by an Act of the Central or State Legislature in India or other educational institutions established by an Act of Parliament or declared to be deemed as a University Under Section-3 of the University Grants Commission Act, 1956, or possess an equivalent qualification.

There is no maximum educational qualification prescribed for the IAS exam.

Age Eligibility for IAS Exam

A candidate must have attained the minimum age of 21 years at the time of applying for Civil Services (Preliminary) Exam.

Maximum Age Criteria

For General Category: 32 years

For OBC Category: 35 years

For SC/ST Category: 37 years

For Ex-Servicemen: 37 years

For Blind, hearing impaired and orthopaedically handicapped

persons: 42 years 

Attempt Eligibility for IAS Exam

For General Category: 6 attempts

For OBC Category: 9 attempts

For SC/ST Category: No limit till 37 years

For PH candidates: 9 for PH candidates in General and OBC category, no limit for PH candidates in SC/ST category till 37 years

IAS Exam Eligibility at a Glance

NationalityAge LimitEducational QualificationNumber of Attempts
Must be citizen of India (for IAS and IPS)Minimum 21 years (all categories) and Max 32 years (general category), 35 years (OBC), 37 years (SC and ST)A degree (minimum) from a university recognised by UGC6 (general category)
For other services must be either: citizen of India, Nepal, Bhutan or Tibetan Refugee, Person of Indian Origin (PIO) migrated to India.5 years exemption on upper limit for ex-Servicemen9 (OBC)
No attempt limit till 37 years (SC/ST)

This wraps the complete details of IAS exam eligibility. In case of doubts and queries you can request the same in the comments below.

Recommended For You

About the Author: IAS Kracker

IAS Kracker is your friend, mentor and guide to help you crack the IAS exam. We have been guiding hundreds of IAS Aspirants since 2009 to help realize their dream of cracking the IAS exam. Know more about us.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *