[Indian Polity] Constituent Assembly and its Committees

As far as Indian polity and Modern Indian History is concerned, questions are often asked on the Constituent Assembly elected to frame the Constitution of independent India. This post explains the details related to its formation and its committees which you will find useful for your Prelims preparation.

Constituent Assembly of India

  • Setup under the Cabinet Mission Plan of 1946
  • 11 sessions were held in total
  • First session was held from December 9-23 1946
  • Last session was held from November 14-26 1949
  • Special meeting was held on January 24, 1950 to append signatures

 State-wise Membership of the Constituent Assembly

Sr. No.StateNo of Members
3West Bengal19
4United Provinces55
5East Punjab12
7C.P and Berar17

Committees of the Constituent Assembly

Sr. No.Name of the CommitteeChairman
1Committee on the Rules of ProcedureRajendra Prasad
2Steering CommitteeRajendra Prasad
3Finance and Staff CommitteeRajendra Prasad
4Credential CommitteeAlladi Krishnaswami Ayyar
5House CommitteeB Pattabhi Sitaramayya
6Order of Business CommitteeKM Munshi
7Ad-hoc Committee on the National FlagRajendra Prasad
8Committee on the Functions of the Constituent AssemblyGV Mavalankar
9States CommitteeJawaharlal Nehru
10Advisory Committee on Fundamental Rights, Minorities and Tribal and Excluded AreasVallabbhai Patel
11Minorities Sub-committeeHC Mookherjee
12Fundamental Rights Sub-CommitteeJB Kripalani
13North-East Frontier Tribal Areas and Assam, Excluded and Partially Excluded Areas Sub-CommitteeGopinath Bardoloi
14Excluded and Partially Excluded Area (other than those in Assam) Sub-CommitteeAV Thakur
15Union Powers CommitteeJawaharlal Nehru
16Union Constitution CommitteeJawaharlal Nehru
17Drafting CommitteeBR Ambedkar

Drafting Committee of the Constituent Assembly

By far, the most important committee was the Drafting Committee since it was tasked with the very important responsibility of wording the Constitution.

Chairman – Dr BR Ambedkar


1. N Gopalaswamy Ayyangar

2. Alladi Krsihnaswami Ayyar

3. KM Munshi

4. Mohammed Saadullah

5. BL Mittar replaced by N Madhava Rao following his resignation on health grounds

6. Dr DP Khaitan (died in 1948 and was replaced by TT Krishnamachari)

NOTE: Recommended books for Indian Polity are Our Constitution by Subhash Kashyap and TMH GS Manual

Probable questions based on the above

1) Match the following committees of the Constituent Assembly with their respective Chairmen

2) Which of the following statements is/are correct: 1. Rajendra Prasad was the Chairman of the Union Powers Committee of the Constituent Assembly 2. In all, 12 sessions of the Constituent Assembly were held

3) Which of the following states had the highest number of members elected to the Constituent Assembly? 1. Madras 2. United Provinces 3. Bihar 4. Bombay

Recommended Books for IAS

Recommended For You

About the Author: IAS Kracker

IAS Kracker is your friend, mentor and guide to help you crack the IAS exam. We have been guiding hundreds of IAS Aspirants since 2009 to help realize their dream of cracking the IAS exam. Know more about us.

1 Comment

  1. I thought that there are only 13 comittees in our constitution. But here are 17 comittees given. What is the matter???? Tell me as soon as possible.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *