Compare Prices of Books for IAS

  All the Best Books for IAS exam in Price Comparison format.

The Storm Centres of 1857 Revolt and their Leaders

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

The 1857 Revolt has been termed as the first war of Independence by many Historians as it was the first uprising to take place simultaneously in many places across India against the colonial rule. In this post, we will know which were the storm centres of the 1857 mutiny and who were the main leaders at these storm centres.

You can also read the reasons for the failure of 1857 revolt.

Beginning of Revolt at Meerut

The mutiny first broke out at Meerut in United Provinces on May 10, 1857. Before this a young Sepoy by the name of Mangal Pande fired at the Sergeant Major of his unit at Barrackpore. He was overpowered and executed on April 6 while his regiment was disbanded in May.

Storm Centres and Leaders of the Revolt

Mutiny at Delhi

At Delhi the symbolic leadership belonged to the Mughal Emperor Bahadur Shah, but the de facto or real command was in the hands of General Bakht Khan who had led the revolt of bareilly troops and brought them to Delhi.

Revolt at Kanpur

The mutiny at Kanpur was led by Nana Saheb, the adopted son of the last Peshwa, Baji Rao II. Nana Saheb defeated the British army and made them withdraw from Kanpur and proclaimed himself the Peshwa. Nana Saheb further acknowledged Bahadur Shah as the Emperor of India and declared himself to be his governor.

online tests for ias

Rebellion at Lucknow

In Lucknow the rebellion was led by Begum Hazrat Mahal. Her son, Birjis Qadir, was proclaimed the Nawab and a regular administration was organised with important offices shared equally by Muslims and Hindus.

Unrest at Bareilly

Khan Bahadur sounded the bugle at Bareilly since he was not satisfied with the pension granted by the British. He organised an army of 40,000 soldiers and offered stiff resistance to the British.

Revolt in Bihar

In Bihar, the revolt was led by Kunwar Singh, the zamindar of Jagdishpur. He was above 70 years and held a grudge against the British for depriving him of his estates.

Mutiny at Faizabad

Maulvi Ahmadullah of Faizabad was another outstanding leader of the revolt. He emerged as one of the revolt’s acknowledged leaders once it broke out in Awadh in May 1857.

Revolt at Jhansi

The most outstanding leader of the 1857 revolt was Rani Laxmibai who led the revolt at Jhansi since her adopted son was refused to succeed to the throne after her husband had died and had annexed Jhansi by applying the ‘Doctrine of Lapse’.

She was joined by Tantia Tope, a close associate of Nana Saheb, after the loss of Kanpur.

Summary of Storm Centres of 1857 Revolt and their Leaders

Centre Leader
Delhi General Bakht Khan
Kanpur Nana Saheb
Lucknow Begum Hazrat Mahal
Bareilly Khan Bahadur
Bihar Kunwar Singh
Faizabad Maulvi Ahmadullah
Jhansi Rani Laxmibai

So we have seen which were the main storm centres of the 1857 mutiny and their corresponding leaders. You can attempt high quality mock tests on 1857 Revolt and other History topics in our online test series.

Get a Free eBook and Updates

Just enter your best email and name to receive a free eBook full of tips and information on IAS exam. Also receive updates when I publish a new post. Stay ahead of the competition.


I am your friend, mentor and guide to help crack the IAS exam. I've cleared the Prelims everytime including the first and also reached the Interview stage. Know more about me

Click Here to Leave a Comment Below 0 comments

Leave a Reply: